## Notes from the Chair

Dear MESD Members and Friends,

It's been an exciting year in MESD! Spearheaded by past chair, Don Baird, and with generous support from Owens Corning, MESD has instituted a young

of Pittsburgh for "his outstanding creativity in the area of nano-materials design and development". Profs. de Pablo and Gao will be delivering their award lectures during the MESD plenary session to be held on October 19, 2011 (Wednesday) at the annual meeting. We are very grateful to DuPont and to Owens Corning for financially supporting the Stine and Owens Corning Award, respectively.

It is also election season again, and MESD has several important positions to fill. One is for 2

Vice-Chair. The individual who is elected will coordinate Division programming for the Annual Meeting in Fall, 2013, and will eventually succeed to chair the division. Cliff Henderson of Georgia Institute of Technology presently serves in this capacity. This year, we have three candidates for 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice-Chair: Dean Delongchamp of the Polymer

Division of the National Institute of Standards and

Technology, Efrosini Kokkoli of the University of Minnesota, and Ian Suni of Clarkson University.

There are also two Division Director positions open – those being vacated by Thomas Kuech of the University of Wisconsin – Madison and Holly Stretz of Tennessee Tech University. We have three candidates for these two positions: Stacey Bent of Stanford University, Sanat Kumar of Columbia University, and Gregory Parsons of North Carolina State University. Directors serve for two years.

Doug Kalika of the University of Kentucky will continue his reliable service as Secretary-Treasurer, and is running unopposed for this position. I am very grateful that all these individuals have indicated a willingness to serve. Given that the annual meeting is early this year, we have, accordingly, moved up the election deadline. Voting will commence between August 22 and September 1, 2011.

This year's annual meeting promises an exciting and vibrant program, thanks to program chair, Stevin Gehrke. There will be 102 sessions at the annual meeting that are affiliated with MESD, of which 80 are primary-sponsored. Highlights include an all-invited talk session sponsored by Area 8A on "Emerging Areas in Polymer Science and Engineering" as well as honorary sessions sponsored by Area 8B to celebrate Matthew Tirrell's 60<sup>th</sup> birthday. The MESD poster session is scheduled for Wednesday evening.

Finally, I would like to thank the executive committee for their hard work. I have really enjoyed working with you, and am now turning the reins over to Stevin Gehrke, who will be our new Chair come November. I look forward to seeing everyone in Minneapolis!

Lynn Loo Professor of Chemical & Biological Engineering Princeton University *lloo@princeton.edu* 

nd

22 (2008-2009). She has also been a member of ACS, BMES, Biophysical Society, and MRS.

As Second Vice-Chair Efie's goals are to create resources through a MESD web page that can enhance the professional development of our members, especially at the early stages of their careers, to promote and expand prestigious awards for different areas and professional stages, and last but not least, to inspire and recruit as many committed students and young faculty to join MESD.

Ian Ivar Suni is Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Clarkson University. In June 2010, he was also named Director of Clarkson's new PhD program in Materials Science and Engineering, after spending about 5 years organizing this program. This is an interdisciplinary PhD program that includes faculty from various disciplines at Clarkson University. Ian received his

BS in Chemical Engineering from the University of Michigan in 1983, and his PhD in Chemistry from Harvard University in 1992. He spent two years as a postdoctoral research associate with Edmond G. Seebauer at the University of Illinois. His awards include the John W. Graham Junior Faculty Research Award, which he received from Clarkson University in 1999.

Ian's research focuses primarily electrochemistry and its application to engineering science and technology development involving thin film growth dissolution, including photovoltaic materials, biosensors, solar energy, and nanomaterials. In the area of biosensors, he has been a research pioneer in impedance methods to detect antibody-antigen binding, a critical element to development of portable and inexpensive device. He also recently reported the first method for aqueous, room temperature deposition of Si thin films by a combination of galvanic and electroless deposition. He has 51 publications in peer reviewed academic journals, and has received research funding from the National Science Foundation, Army Research Office, and multiple industrial Ian has also been active in curriculum sources.

help expand program options and attract active member involvement, especially students and postdoc researchers. Parsons will encourage student visibility and activity, and seek new means to promote industry and academic partnership in program development. The Division has very strong members, but the program needs to find new means to attract involvement and better integrate research advances in the Chemical Engineering discipline. New pragmatic ideas based on past leadership performance can produce tangible and visible advances in our division and community over the next several years.